Waiting

As I wait for spring to arrive in full swing, I have been considering what other significant periods of waiting lands on our doorstep, knocks on our door, and touches our lives.  

In a couple of weeks, my birthday will mark the beginning of yet another decade of my senior years. This approaching time frame comes with meandering thoughts about different periods of waiting of varying degrees that have come into my own life.

Waiting for a call from my daughter telling me she got back to her newly formed city life safely after paying us a visit at the farm where she grew up.

Waiting for new carrots and peas to be big enough to pull and eat fresh out of the garden.

Waiting to heal from various surgeries that were necessitated to keep this old body functioning properly through the years awarded to me thus far.

Waiting in airports to catch a flight to Quebec, Ottawa, Kelowna, Victoria, Barra-de Navidad México, Las Vegas, New York.   

Waiting to find out what had happened to my son and if he would live or die.

Waiting to see what kind of marks I would get on exams I studied hard for which could lead me to earning a half-ass descent living.

Waiting to see if a 10-year long friendship that ended in 10 years of silent treatment would magically unwound.

Waiting to see the full moon start peaking over the horizon and slowly make its grand ascent into the vastness of the night sky filling me with a sense of connection to those who have already travelled to a world beyond.

Waiting for my partner to come home and once more be part of my daily life.

Waiting for the grips of grief to slowly dissipate into a knowing, a reassurance of how deeply I’ve lived, laughed and loved.  

Now the geese are starting to arrive, the blue jays, the magpies, the nuthatch, and the sparrows are here. The next sure sign of spring will come with the arrival of the trusted robins, the green grass and of course our famous bright yellow dandelions. A cause for celebration!  

Leave a comment