Thoughts On Quotes

“With freedom, books, flowers and the moon, who could not be happy?  Oscar Wilde

“Be yourself; everyone else is taken.”  Oscar Wilde

I often find myself wishing I could have met this man. Love some of his quotes. So many pull me into a heartfelt place where I feel grounded, centered and deep in thought of what really matters. 

Had I lived back in the 1800’s, I think he’s someone I could have had long meaningful conversations with while sitting on a park bench or meandering through a forest path under a starry night sky. I like his words, his voice, his personal, unique, simple, yet powerful way of speaking his truth.  

There’s another wisdom quote I like which so far, I’ve only found signed by Anonymous. It says; “I didn’t change. I just woke up.” In reference to that quote on the internet, another quote says; “One of the greatest feelings in life. This moment when it all suddenly makes sense.” 

I love experiencing these kinds of moments. I’ve come across numerous such moments in my life so far. Some I wrote about in my book In Search of Oneness. Some like a spectacular sunset or sunrise bring a sense of wonderment and awe, others are more life jarring moments yet it is often through some of those more difficult moments that the much deeper learnings come through.  

Some people call them “aha” moments. I’m not referring to the kind of moments like finally finding my glasses when they were sitting on top of my head the whole time I’ve been spinning around the room looking for them. 

I’m talking about moments that knock me off my feet. Moments where everything suddenly clicks into place like Lego blocks. Then, bang! There it is and the words OMG! automatically tumble out of my mouth, because the thing I was pushing up against trying to ignore can no longer be denied. Nor do I want to. My job now is to embrace it, embody it, live it.

A quote I consistently bumped up against on my life journey. 
“Then you will know the truth, and the truth shall set you free.”

Reflection time at my favorite spot in Valemount. Not at all what it looks like sitting at my computer at home watching the snow come down.

One thought on “Thoughts On Quotes

Leave a comment